03-22-2011, 02:21 PM | #1 |
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Rep Power: 0 |
WP User<vB User
I have a problem with some urgency as my site is set to open in two days.
Essentially, I'm having an issue of functionality with the users feature. I'm running a news site with multiple authors, whose names I would like to display as "First Last" when they author articles, however, they can have any username they want on the forum. Since installing the bridge, the vb username seems to overwrite any WP user settings. Is it possible to have "First Last" as the WP user format for Contributors and above? Also, does the bridge import avatars from vb to WP? Thanks |
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 02:26 PM | #2 |
Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10 |
What I would recommend you do is disable the admin area integration by commenting out this line:
Code:
define('USE_ADMINCP_BRIDGE', true); Code:
##define('USE_ADMINCP_BRIDGE', true); |
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 02:28 PM | #3 |
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Rep Power: 0 |
Thanks for your quick responses! I will try this and edit this post to let you know how it works. Also, I was thinking that it was my theme after reading a similar thread.
Edit: After checking vbbridge.php, I saw that the line in question was already commented out. I had the bridge deactivated at that point, so I re-activated it, and tried to login with my WP credentials, no luck. I can only log in with my vB username, and all of my posts are authored by my vB username, not "First Last". Actually, when I try to enter additional info from the WP admin for my user profile, it does not save, defaulting back to vB settings. Last edited by UT1; 03-22-2011 at 02:37 PM. |
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 02:46 PM | #4 |
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Rep Power: 0 |
Should I not map the contributors, authors, editors, admins then?
|
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 02:57 PM | #5 |
Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10 |
It should not matter who you map when you have commented out the code.
Are you logging into the WP admin exclusively? Meaning, don't login on another other page except wp-admin. |
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 03:12 PM | #6 |
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Rep Power: 0 |
If you mean I am only using the WP-admin page to log in, then yes. If you view my homepage, www.theheardproject.com, there is a login box widget on the right, which I can enter my vB credentials to access the wp-admin dashboard. I can PM you my info if you would like to see what's going on for yourself.
I don't use the actual forum to login anymore. |
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 03:14 PM | #7 | |
Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10 |
Quote:
http://theheardproject.com/wp-login....in%2F&reauth=1 |
|
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 03:17 PM | #8 |
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Rep Power: 0 |
I use that page sometimes, but only my vB login credentials work, and I am unable to save my First and Last name and change display settings. When I enter that info and press save, it reads that it saved at the top of the page, but the fields are cleared.
|
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 03:19 PM | #9 |
Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10 |
Hmm not sure why this is happening then. If you have commented out the code then it simply should not be working when you are in the WP admin CP.
|
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 03:28 PM | #10 |
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Rep Power: 0 |
Yeah, I don't believe I ever commented it out so it must've been that way by default (line 12 of vbbridge).
But, I've actually run into yet another problem. In messing with the map settings, I've changes "Map vB usergroup Administrators" to "Do not map" and now I can't login to wp-admin at all. I had to deactivate the plugin, because I was getting a 500 error. Now it just won't accept my credentials. Sorry for the hassle |
Reply With Quote |
03-22-2011, 04:50 PM | #11 |
Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10 |
Just delete the bridge files and it should fix any issues you are having. The bridge does not change any WP data so once you delete it, you should be back to where you started before you installed.
|
Reply With Quote |
03-23-2011, 04:38 PM | #12 |
Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10 |
This might fix your issue. Change this code in vbbridge.php
Code:
if ( (!preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN') and !defined('XMLRPC_REQUEST') and !$_GET['preview'] and !$install) or (defined('USE_ADMINCP_BRIDGE') and !$install)): Code:
if ( (!preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !preg_match('#dashboard#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN') and !defined('XMLRPC_REQUEST') and !$_GET['preview'] and !$install) or (defined('USE_ADMINCP_BRIDGE') and !$install)): |
Reply With Quote |
03-24-2011, 01:32 AM | #13 |
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Rep Power: 0 |
Sorry I didn't reply sooner. What I did earlier was rename the /vbbridge folder to deactivate, which eventually allowed me to login. However, I later realized there was some sort of residual "bridge effect" when I use the facebook connect plugin to register, a WP and a VB account are created, however, this is not the case when not use facebook connect. But, the display name issue finally cleared up.
Unfortunately, it seems like some of the accounts re-bridged to different usernames. I also can no longer activate the plugin (fatal error), I tried the above steps, and those from before, and no joy. The timing on this couldn't be any worse as my site is set to open in a few hours. But, I've decided I may not be able to use the plugin, despite its usefulness, at least until things are sorted out. Thank you for your speedy support through all of this though. Hopefully, I'll be in a better position to donate in the future. |
Reply With Quote |
03-24-2011, 06:33 AM | #14 |
Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10 |
If the facebook plugin did something, then it did it on its own. The bridge does not write to the wordpress database, simple as that.
If you received a fatal error, then I assume you did not copy the code correctly. Good luck! |
Reply With Quote |
Reply |
Tags |
vbulletin wordpress bridge |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
WP bridge installed, I get this error when I try to do user mappings | wacnstac | vBulletin Wordpress Bridge | 10 | 02-23-2011 10:40 AM |